The Washington Nationals are World Series champions after defeating the Houston Astros, 6-2, on the road on Wednesday night in the winner-take-all Game 7. The franchise took home its first ever World Series trophy, and it was the first World Series championship for a D.C.-based team since the Washington Senators won in 1924.